Album Cover

Tribes of Neurot: Static Migration

  1. Unspoken Path
  2. Rust
  3. Recurring Birth
  4. March to the Sun
  5. Origin Unknown
  6. Blood and Water
  7. Edgewood
  8. Head of the Scorpion

Tribes of Neurot sounds nothing like I would expect. from a project containing members of Neurosis. Instead of thrashing guitars, each note is held for what seems like minutes. Instead of grinding, the bass glides effortlessly from chord to chord. Instead of headbanging drums, the percussion is calculated, precise and rhythmic. Tribes of Neurot, with the aid of Walking Time Bombs, create one of the more original ethnic and tribal albums I've heard in some time. Each track is a shamanistic journey into an realm outside what is conventionally understood. Subtle percussion sets the rhythm, pulsating electronics hum with deep bass tones and other abstract elements permeate the mix. Each track is unique enough to have been written by totally different bands, yet in reality, all were written in part by several of the eleven collaborators on this album. It just goes to show that you should never assume that a Hardcore side project is going to sound anything like a Harecore band. Those conceptions can be misleading.

Relapse Records
P.O. Box 251
Millersville, PA 17551


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: