Album Cover

Total Devotion: Where The Grasses Grow

  1. Memory
  2. Never
  3. Get Down Now
  4. Another Time
  5. Daydream
  6. Detriment
  7. Hole Inside of Me
  8. Lifeline
  9. Slide
  10. Paralyzed
  11. Move Away
  12. So Long
  13. Where The Grasses Grow

Total Devotion has been marketing its new album as Nine Inch Nail clones for reasons that are beyond me. I'd be hard pressed to find a Trent Reznor comparison anywhere on the album with the exception of a few angstful lyrics. The album is definitely an extreme departure from the dancey synth-pop of the past and ventures heavily into the electro guitar arena. The music is still very light, poppy and Top-40ish in places. The majority of the lyrics are pop fluff love songs with nothing even remotely approaching a club track without some serious remixing. Rimas Campe seems to be pushing his limits with this new album. The music is in such a different vein that his previous work that it is very evident how hesitant he is to work within this medium. The album ends up sounding very subduced but amazingly accessible for the popular audiences who seem to be starving for crossover bands such as these. I'd expect this album would be amazingly successful with the 'alternative' crowd but ignored by many of the diehard electronic music buffs.

Total Devotion is: Rimas Campe

Total Devotion
P.O. Box 284
Owings Mills, MD 21117-0284


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: