Album Cover

Thread: Self-Titled

  1. Salt People
  2. Fragile
  3. Lost
  4. Inside
  5. Weak
  6. End the Confusion
  7. Fight
  8. Believe
  9. White
  10. Selle
  11. Mea Culpa

Thread timidly balances between electro and goth threatening at any moment to collapse onto one side or the other. Lush vocal intonations evoke ballads and the soothing guitars and electronics flutter back to the early years of Love & Rockets. Thread seems to stand above many other goth bands because instead of utilizing crooning the vocalist actually has the ability to sing. The live instrumentation of the drums and guitars seem almost buried compared to depth and complexity of the electronics. The strongest factor is the success of the band is it's apparent tightness and it's ability to compliment each distinct section of itself. A large portion of the album is inordinately radio friendly quite unlike most of it's parent genre. So radio friendly that one might at first listen actually lump Thread into the alternative music blitz that has been hitting the airwaves for the past several years. Absolutely one of the most refreshing bands to come out of Seattle this year.

Thread are:
Rocky Polan - vocals, bass, keyboards, programming
Scott Stoltz - guitar, backing vocals
Brian Jackson - drums

P.O. Box 27491
Seattle, WA 98125
(206) 233-1786


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: