Album Cover

Thinking Man: I'm Alive

  1. Screaming Saints
  2. Sex Goddess
  3. My Obsession
  4. To Love Again
  5. Resigned
  6. Acid
  7. So Pure
  8. Warland
  9. I Can't Sleep
  10. And You're Mine
  11. I'm Alive
  12. Dream

Upon my first listen to this album I couldn't help feeling that I had heard the vocalist previously somewhere else. Later upon closer inspection of the release information I was surprised to see the vocalist to be none other than Daniel Williams formerly of Stereotaxic Device. Paired with him is Steve Jaszkowiak a prominent sound effect artists on several films and television shows. Together they have created a new musical project, that while overusing the same vocal modification that Ogre of Skinny Puppy recently gave up, still has a fresh new feel to it. Amazingly enough Thinking Man even uses a guitar, albeit minimally, but a guitar nonetheless which is a definite first for a band on the Metropolis label. Oddly enough this diverse collection of styles meshes together well when all the musical facets are combined into a singular entity. Musically the album ranges from some slowish chord heavy pieces, to morbid lyrical poems, to even a few dance friendly tracks. If you have been looking for a fresh new American band that could be set to create musical waves down the road then I suggest you give Thinking Man a try because they seem to have all the elements necessary to achieve that status.

Thinking Man is:
Daniel Williams - lyrics, vocals
Steve Jaszkowiak - bass, guitar, synthesizers

Metropolis Records
P.O. Box 54307
Philadelphia, PA 19105
(215) 413-1805


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: