Album Cover

Test Dept: Totality

  1. Once The Red Dust Passes...(Pt. 1)
  2. Chillo (Sunrise)
  3. Hole
  4. Gripper (A Lifetime Of Knowledge)
  5. Genius
  6. Timebomb
  7. Woza Moya Woza (Come Spirit Come)
  8. The Point
  9. Gamma Ray
  10. Rol Ihlahla (Stirring Up Trouble)
  11. Chillo (Sunset)
  12. Al'rabih (The Spring)
  13. Zazen
  14. Once The Red Dust Passes...(Pt. 2)

Test Dept really have walked off the beaten path ever since the release of their 'New World Order' single and this new album is no exception. Abandoning their steel drums and orchestras in favor of digital media and instruments, Test Dept are trying to prove that they too can exist within the real of the post-modern industrial culture. Where some of their earlier forays into the realm of electronic music have been something less than a success, "Totality" marks perhaps the first time they have been able to write a quality album with purely digital equipment from start to finish. Musically the album varies from hard trance and percussive meanderings to alluring ballads with help from a female vocalist. One of the most intriguing items is the fact that they sound nothing like the band who released such classics as "Pax Britannica" and "The Unacceptable Face of Freedom", yet their skill at writing purely electronic music is amazingly apt. It just goes to show you that musical progression, while a bumpy road, can with time be a positive experience which is well worth the wait.

Invisible Records
P.O Box 16008
Chicago, IL 60016


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: