Album Cover

Psychopomps: First Blood

  1. Drunk City 6:10
  2. Drug Addict 5:50
  3. Animals ('90 Version) 4:28
  4. Hate 4:07
  5. Baby-Terror Baby 3:42
  6. AMF ('90 Version) 3:04
  7. Somnambulism 6:00
  8. Never Forgive! Never Forget! 5:05
  9. Wanted To Tell You 5:37
  10. Rock Around The Cock 0:10
  11. March Along 5:04
  12. Out of Control 3:55
  13. AMF ('89 Version) 2:54
  14. Animals ('89 Version) 4:24

First Blood is a compilation of old Psychopomps singles, B-sides, and unreleased tracks from 1989 to present. I've never been impressed much with the shock tactics that the Psychopomps used in their lyrics or their musical style but I would rank this album as a excellent place upon which to begin your journey into their musical realm. The cross section of the music spans over six years and several versions of multiple tracks to give the listener a board range of music to choose from. The limited edition version of this release on Zoth Ommog only has 1500 copies releases so diehard fans who can't find the limited edition might want to pick up this domestic release to complete their collections. There isn't much else to note about the music present since it is all well within the typical in your face sexually explicit style that you've come to expect. You are however exposed to tracks both with and without sampled guitar because of the age of some of these tracks which is something you generally don't get on a full length Psychopomps album. A vaguely interesting 'Best of' collection marketed at collectors and new listeners which accomplishes it's job well.

Psychopomps are: Jesper Schmidt & Flemming Norre Larsen

Cleopatra Records
8726 S. Sepulveda Blvd Ste. D-82
Los Angeles, CA 90045


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: