Album Cover

Pseudocipher: Pseudocipher

  1. 11:14
  2. Confession
  3. Time
  4. Symmetry
  5. Daddys Girl
  6. Purgatory
  7. An Excerpt from Station2
  8. Mentor
  9. Embryo
  10. Pretty
  11. Purge
  12. Pretty2

Pseudocipher release their debut eponymously titled album of melodic Darkwave and somber Gothic poetry. The album uses guitars sparingly as accompaniment and focus nstead on minimal electronics as the musical base. The solo leads switches between male and female vocals on most tracks with an occasional duet or backing vocal. Much of the material, however, while Gothic, isn't very dark or depressing. In fact, much of the music evokes visions of the spriteful moods and brilliant colors of the lands of Faerie. The vocals toy with the dark themes thereby mixing happy music with moody vocals into various shades of Gothic grey. My only complaint with this release is that the male vocals sound too much like David Gahan from Depeche Mode. I know he can't really do much about the tone of his singing voice, but the resemblance is uncanny.

P.O. Box 3967
Long Beach, CA 90803

[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: