Album Cover

Project Pitchfork: Steelrose

  1. Steelrose 4:01
  2. Steelrose (Black to Red Mix) 4:34
  3. Steelrose (Talla 2XLC Mix) 7:45
  4. Steelrose (Apoptygma Berzerk Mix) 6:06
  5. Angels 4:22
  6. Steelrose (Overdose Mix) 4:35
  7. Steelrose (Long Version) 5:36

Will wonders never cease? A domestic Project Pitchfork single is released at the same time as its companion in Europe. A large part of this is to help promote the band's first U.S tour this summer, so don't expect it to happen again. Unfortunately, this eight track single contains very little in the way of new music. Of the five mixes of 'Steelrose', none vary much from the album version. The original track is oddly percussion based, upbeat and club friendly, quite unlike the normally morose music exhibited on the single bonus track 'Angels'. One might almost accuse the band of taking advantage of the suddenly popular crunchy drums, thick basslines, and grinding rhythms of the Power Noise scene. I doubt, however, that it is a sign of the band's future direction band based on the melancholy and stereotypical stylings of the bonus track.

Project Pitchfork is: Peter Spilles, Dirk Scheuber & Kai Lotze

Metropolis Records
P.O. Box 54307
Philadelphia, PA 19105


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: