Album Cover

Pigface: A New High in Low

Disc 1:

  1. Radio Bagpipe
  2. Kiss King (high high high)
  3. Burundi
  4. Bring Unto Me
  5. More
  6. Nutopia
  7. Methylated
  8. Aboriginal
  9. Metal Tangerine
  10. First Taken Third Found
  11. Warzone
  12. You Know/You Know/You Know

Disc 2:

  1. The Howler: An English Breakfast (Chapter 1, Part 1)
  2. Train
  3. The Howler: An English Breakfast (Chapter 1, Part 2)

Pigface return with their first new full length album in almost two years, and I'm sad to say that most steadfast Pigface fans will be sorely disappointed. Gone are the massive collaborations that end up in a dizzying miasma of guitars and digitally overproduced tracks. Instead, on "A New High in Low", Martin Atkins has chosen to stress the musical intricacies of low fidelity recording with few musicians contributing to each track. Organic instrument are stressed over their more conventional digital counterparts on almost every track. Sitars, didgeridoo, drums, and other more traditional instruments play an almost integral role on every track. While a few keyboards, a sampler, and a mellotron are used on a handful of tracks, they are used more as filler than as the core of the music. As a result this new album has much more the tribal feel that I think Martin Atkins has always wanted to bring to Pigface. However, fans of the more electronic thrash oriented Pigface of old are going to definitely feel a bit cheated with this release.

Invisible Records
P.O. Box 16008
Chicago, IL 60618


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: