Album Cover

Pain Station: Anxiety

  1. Empty
  2. Vagrant
  3. Alone
  4. Perversion
  5. Closer To The Edge
  6. Feed Me
  7. Hate
  8. Dying
  9. Consumed
  10. Into My Brain

This is a well-crafted release with tight programming and is doubly impressive in the fact that this is Scott's debut CD (although he has put out one exciting demo as well). As revealed in the interview, the man behind Pain Station, Scott Sturgis, has toned down the guitar usage and went with a slower tempo than the material on his demo release. This creates a much more menacing and darker effect as well as helping him create his own musical identity. In this way he doesn't come across sounding just like an imitator of his various influences -- which I would say was a slight problem with his demo material. He definitely has a stronger comparison to high-grade European acts than much of the standard fare in the states; he easily moves from powerful, angst-ridden coldwave songs to ambient-soundscape stylings to tracks built around heavy techno structures, while still managing a cohesiveness to the whole album. One of the most impressive tracks on the disc, for me personally, was Alone' -- it's comes across with a very saddened and frustrated atmosphere; it's a song that just about brought tears to my eyes, without being a sappy ballad. Which comes to another strong point of the disc, Scott's lyrics. They're very personal and open to interpretation; and he doesn't feel the need to rely on over-used cliches to convey a feeling or belief to the listener. Tom Muschitz of Alien Faktor/Decibel Records does most of the excellent production work on the album (along with Chris Randall helping out on a few songs), but Scott's strong musical abilities showcased on this album is more than enough reason to pick up this disc. (Kevin Congdon)

Pain Station is: Scott Sturgis

Decibel Records
615 N. Milwaukee St
Milwaukee WI, 53202


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: