Album Cover

Mainesthai: Out To Lunch

  1. Dollars And Sins
  2. Y (Mama's Crazy Kitchen Mix)
  3. Join The Club
  4. Wartime
  5. Playing God
  6. My Animosity
  7. Therapy
  8. Who You Are
  9. Spectral
  10. Wartime (Trampled)
  11. Y (Inquiring Minds Mix)
  12. Dollars and Sins (Binge Binge)
  13. My Animosity (Humility Mix)

Mainesthai is yet another Mentallo & The Fixer side project, that has been remastered and reissued on Metropolis Records. As with Benestrophe, the music has been entirely written by the Dassing brothers, but the vocals have been relegated to someone else, in this case Michael Green. As a result the music is very similar to early era Mentallo & The Fixer with a fair number of movie samples and heavy emphasis on keyboards. However, unlike other side projects, there is a fair amount of odd percussion and other rhythmic elements. My key complaint with this album is the vocal work. Mr. Greene has chosen to utilize very stereotypical effects processing which is very uninspiring and ultimately boring. Unfortunately, due to the lack of typical Dassing instrumentals, this means that the audience has to suffer for the entire length of the album. Mainesthai will definitely appeal to fans of any Mentallo & The Fixer project, but if you are looking for something new, look elsewhere, as this album is about five years old, and it sounds very dated.

Mainesthai is:
Michael Green - vocals
Dwayne Dassing - guitars, programming
Gary Dassing - programming

Metropolis Records
P.O. Box 54307
Philadelphia, PA 19105


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: