Album Cover

Front Line Assembly: Hard Wired

  1. Neologic Spasm
  2. Paralyzed
  3. Re-Birth
  4. Circuitry
  5. Mortal
  6. Modus Operandi
  7. Transparent Species
  8. Barcode
  9. Condemned
  10. Infra Red Combat

'Hard Wired' was released hot on the heels of 'Millennium' for what it seems as a pacification device for the uproar over the guitar bonanza. Many of the diehard fans were understandably upset where their favorite electronic only band suitably 'betrayed' them for the sound of sampled guitars. So after a mild disagreement with Rhys over the direction of the new album, Bill stepped a musical level backwards in his sound construction techniques and removed much of the guitar element. After the initial disgruntlement was over Rhys rejoined Bill in the studio to work on 'Hard Wired' an album whose release would have been better suited to occur directly after 'Tactical Neural Implant' and prior to 'Millennium' instead of after it. 'Hard Wired' contains the densest collection of electronic sound that we've had the luxury of hearing from the FLA crew ever combined with a minimal arrangement of guitar samples whose end result is probably the most complex collection of tracks that Leeb & Fulber have ever created. While the dup has spent much of the previous two years as primarily a studio band releasing a multitude of albums under diverse genres and nomenclatures they always return to FLA as the mainstay project where they place the primary core of their effort. It has paid off once again with a electronically astounding album which more than makes up for what I felt was a drastic mistake on 'Millennium', the use of guitars as primary instrumentation instead of the mainstay electronics.

Front Line Assembly are: Bill Leeb & Rhys Fulber

Metropolis Records
P.O. Box 54307
Philadelphia, PA 19105


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: