Album Cover

Flux: Protoplasmic

  1. Patterns of Traffic
  2. Hollow Spaces
  3. Unknown Codes
  4. Life Fuse
  5. Protoplasmic
  6. Stretched Out
  7. Airtrap
  8. Immanence

Flux is the new project by James Plotkin that replaces his previous band Old. James certainly makes some major changes to his usual sound with this album, most of which are due in part to the addition of Ruth Collins as a vocalist. Previous Plotkin material was for the most part free of all vocals, so it makes sense that his music is now drastically changed with the addition of a vocalist. Musically the album is very difficult to describ. On one hand it has a certain progressive rock feel to it that reminds me a little bit of Rush, yet on the other, it is far too off the beaten path in terms of compositional technique for that comparison. Most of the album is a collection of looped guitars, electronics, and percussion. At times it is arranged much in the same way that the Drum'n'Bass electronic movement composes their music while other tracks are very mellow and laid back. Needless to say, the entire album has a very unique sound to it that defies simple classification of pigeonholing. Flux is definitely a band that is succeeding is developing a certain sound all for themselves.

Flux is:
James Plotkin - music, instrumentation, voice
Ruth Collins - words, voice

Relapse Records
P.O. Box 251
Millersville, PA 17551


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: