Album Cover

Cyrnai: Transfigurations

  1. Face Of The Earth
  2. Electric Sanctuary
  3. Heart of Ice
  4. Within A Field
  5. Transfiguration
  6. Digital Grit Box
  7. LoveSexDesire
  8. Sparks
  9. Is This A Dream?
  10. StormMind
  11. In My Winter
  12. The Absence
  13. Silent Station
  14. Ashes

How does one describe an artist who has worked with a wide variety of industrial and noise artists for over a decade, but has never really been recognized or noticed by anyone? Cyrnai has been working with such diverse artists as Brian Ladd of Blackhouse and Elliot Sharp of Carbon, and has been a member of four distinctly different bands, ranging from punk, gothic, noise, and industrial genres since 1981. Yet, until I received this album in the mail, I wasn't even aware she existed. Musically this solo effort, with the help of a few guests, is a collection of totally electronic pieces that range from dance tunes, sample collages, and, odd technoish pieces. The only guitars you are going to hear will be muted samples, distorted beyond recognition and clarity. Cyrnai also performs all of her own vocal work which ranges from chanting, spoken word, to more traditional methods. The CD also comes with an eighty page companion book which documents dreams that the artists herself has experienced since 1982. Overall a very solid release by a previously unknown artists, who apparently has been sitting quietly in the background gauging for the right moment to pounce upon the musical world in all her splendid talent.

Cyrnai is: Carolyn Fok

Titanium Records
633 Post Street #118
San Francisco, CA 94109
(415) 433-9741


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: