Album Cover

Covenant: Sequencer

  1. Feedback
  2. Stalker
  3. Figurehead
  4. Phoenix
  5. Slowmotion
  6. Tabula Rasa
  7. Storm
  8. Flux
  9. Stalker (Club Version)
  10. Stalker (All Shapes Remix)
  11. Liquid Sky
  12. Babel

Covenant return to the scene with this extremely impressive sophomore release. This Swedish trio seems to have learned a great deal from their debut album. They have been able to overcome some of the percussive and lyrical monotony that made the first album a bit dull in places. Instead they have been able to replace those repetitive portions of their music with a rather varied and dynamic array of synth patches and original percussion samples. The basslines are also a great deal more vibrant, which have a tendency to give the music a bit more of a punch even if the track really isn't much of a dance tune. Also tacked on to the end of this domestic release of "Sequencer" is the entire "Stalker EP". The combination of these two releases into a single album make for a powerful selection of dance tracks. With tracks like 'Figurehead' and 'Stalker', clubs are certain to pack dance floors every time. Overall Covenant has put together a rather solid release that once again proves that European electronic music is where most of the true innovation is coming from these days.

Covenant is:
Eskil Simonsson - composition & vocals
Jakim Montelius - lyrics & samples
Clas Nachmanson - performance & keyboards

21st Circuitry Records
P.O. Box 170100
San Francisco, CA 94117


[Music Reviews] [Sonic Boom]
Last Modified: